Special Needs Information Press reviews Rescue Series

Rescue Series – from Phonic Books
Stories by Clair Baker
Illustrations by Drew Wilson
11.Book 3 - Page 6

This is another well designed and structure reading series produce by Phonic Books. The engaging storylines and accompanying illustrations will appeal to the readers and will hopefully encourage all who read them to continue to develop their reading skills.

Phonic Books have released this new series of books to add to their range of catch-up readers. The Rescue Series has an interest age of between 8 and 14 years but is aimed at those whose reading abilities are within the KS1 range.

This series tell the story of a young girl and her friend, who embark of a sci-fi adventure to rescue her baby brother. There are ten books in the series, each one covering alternative spellings for vowel sounds including long vowel, vowel-r, ow, oi and oo sounds. These supplement those found in the previous Talisman 1 Series.

Each 20 page book in the Rescue Series follow the format of the previous issues by providing reading practice for sounds to be found in each book and a vocabulary page to introduce new words. Each story page is illustrated to stimulate interest and has words used in the text divided into syllable for ease of reading.

Available to supplement the readers is a spiral bound workbook containing about 150 pages of photocopiable activities to reinforce the learning. These include reading exercises to complete, blending and segmenting words, phonic pattern matching and sorting tasks. There are also vocabulary extension activities, comprehension assignments such as true or false, reading time trials, dictation, punctuation and spelling checks and even drawing activities base on the text submitted. There is plenty of choice.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

UK schools & organisations wishing to order by invoice, please read the information regarding our new process. Dismiss